Student Council

 Student Council

Members for 2016-2017

Nicole Carr

Ciaran McGeough

Zoe Green

James Kerr

Emma Gallagher (Secretary)

Ben Harkin

Paddy Gallagher (Chairperson)

Aisling McBride

Aiobhinn McBride

Laura McGinley

Joseph Murray

James Patton

Oisin O Donnell

Darren Sheils

Kevin Sweeney

What is a Student Council?

A Student Council is a representative structure through which students in a post-primary school can become involved in the affairs of the school, working in partnership with school management and staff and parents for the benefit of the school and its students.

The role of the Student Council

The main role of a Student Council as set out in the Education Act is “to promote the interests of the school and the involvement of students in the affairs of the school, in co-operation with the board, parents and teachers”.

A Student Council will set its own objectives, which will vary from school to school. Some general

Objectives could include:

­ To enhance communication between students, management, staff and parents

­ To promote an environment conducive to educational and personal development

­ To promote friendship and respect among pupils

­ To support the management and staff in the development of the school

­ To represent the views of the students on matters of general concern to them